• Contents

Creating New Users

Last updated 23/01/2021

How to create a user and grant appropriate permissions.

Creating New Users


To create a new user:

  1. Log in as an Administrator.
  2. Select your account name in the top right and then select Users.
  3. Select Create User.
  4. Complete the details for the new user and select Create.
    First Name, Last Name, Job Title, and Email are required.

New users will receive an email when they are created that will ask them to create a password.

Once the user has been created, you can change the General Permissions, and depending on the role, configure the Module Permissions for the user, as described in more detail below.

Removing Users


It is currently not possible to delete users in Cin7. This ensures data integrity for reporting and audit logs. It is possible, however, to set users as "Disabled".

To disable a user:

  1. Log in as an Administrator.
  2. Select your account name in the top right and then select Users.
  3. Choose Select next to the user you want to disable.
  4. Set the status drop-down to Disabled.
  5. Select Save to save the changes.

User Details


License Type

Select "POS" for users that only need access to the Point of Sale (POS) module.

Allowed IP Addresses

To restrict the given user's access to this Cin7 account to specific locations, enter the IP address or, if multiple, separated by commas.

Staff POS Access Number

To log in to the POS with a convenient number instead of an email address/password combination, enter a string of numbers.

Two factor Authentication

Select to activate two-factor authentication for the user. See the Two Factor Authentication Help article for additional information.

Roles

If you have already pre-defined a role, you can select the role here. This will pre-define the module settings and dashboard views for this user. See the Creating Roles Help article for additional information.

If you set the role to "custom", you can define module permissions for this specific user as explained in the next section.

General Permissions


There are a number of areas where permissions can be set for each user. This is useful if you do not wish your users to see sales in other branches, different price tiers, or product costs.

Default Branch

Set a default branch if you wish applications like the POS to always load the specified branch first. If set to blank, the branch will typically be the last branch that was set by the user.

Branches

If you'd like your user to view all the branches, select "Full Access".

To limit access, select "Limited Access". This will enable you to select an option against each branch. See the following table for an explanation of each option:

Dropdown Option Explanation
No Access The user will not be able to see the branch, including stock levels or related transactions
View Stock The user will be able to see stock holdings for all branches, but cannot edit transactions. Please note that users must have at least one branch assigned to "Edit Transactions" (see below) for this to work.
Edit Transactions The user has full access to this particular branch.

Price Tiers

Like branches, each individual price tier can be switched on or off for each user. To do this, select "Limited Access", and then choose "Access" against the price tiers you wish to give the user permission to see.

Module Permissions


You can also specify which modules you wish the user to see. There are some suggested presets, such as "Manager" or "Standard", which will populate the drop-downs automatically when selected but you can customize these yourself too.

As before, choosing No Access will not give the user access to that module.

If you do grant access, you can choose between "Manager", "Standard", and "Read Only" access. There are only small differences between each, and they are outlined in the following table:

  Manager Standard Read Only
Sales, Purchases, Production Jobs, Adjustments, Transfers
Edit Transactions Yes Yes No
Enter an Invoice Date for Transactions Yes Yes No
View COGS in Admin Screen Yes No No
Transaction Locking
Update a transaction after two days Yes No No
Update a transaction after 16 days No No No
Products
View Products Yes N/A Yes
View Costs Yes N/A No
Edit a product Yes N/A No
Reports
View reports Yes Yes N/A
View hidden reports Yes No N/A

*Unless otherwise specified under Price Tier permissions.

FAQs

Is it possible to have multiple users log in under one account?

No. It is not possible for a user to concurrent logins across multiple devices. If a user attempts to log into another device while they are still logged in elsewhere, they will be prompted to log out of the first device.

How am I billed for users?

See the Your Billing Information Help article for additional information on billing.