• Contents

Creating Roles

Last updated 11/11/2018

A role is a predefined set of module permissions which allows the management of multiple users with ease. This document explains how to create and manage roles.

Overview


If you have multiple users, it may be more convenient to create a role with predefined module permissions, than to individually define the permissions for each user. A typical example is for retail staff, you may create a role called Retail User that only has access to the Point of Sale module.

Creating a Role


To create a new role:

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click on your account name in the top right-hand corner and then click Users.
  3. Click on Manage Roles.
  4. Click Create Role.
  5. Enter a name for this role, e.g. Sales Rep.
  6. In the following page, you can define module access for this role. For more information about the different options in this page, see Creating New Users.
  7. Click Save to finish creating a role.

To define the homepage dashboard for a role:

  1. Create a role following the instructions above.
  2. Find the Homepage Dashboard module from the list. 
  3. If you wish to configure the dashboards for users, you can do so by clicking on Config.
  4. In the config screen, you will be able to change the settings for the specific user. To preview what this user will see, click save and then click the preview tab to see the dashboard as the user will see it.
  5. Once you are happy with their view, save the settings for the final time and return to the user settings.
  6. Finally, to give access to the dashboard, you must choose between Standard and Manager. Managers have the option to configure their own dashboard.
  7. Finally, Save the user settings to apply all the permissions.

 

 

Allocating a role to a user


To allocate a role to a user:

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click on your account name in the top right-hand corner and then click Users.
  3. Find the user from the list, and click Select.
  4. At the bottom of the User Particulars tab, from the Role dropdown, choose a role. The user will now how the module permissions defined against the role.

Managing Roles


To delete a role:

  1. In the users list page, click Manage Roles. You will see a list of existing roles.
  2. Click Delete to delete a role.

    Deleting an assigned role

    Please note that roles cannot be deleted if they are assigned to users. To find out which users are assigned to a role, you can click on, for instance, 1 assigned to view a filtered user list.