• Contents

Deleting Contacts

Last updated 22/01/2021

How to remove a contact from the CRM.

Deleting a Contact


To ensure data integrity, you can only delete a contact if no transactions have been made against them.

Deleting a contact will remove them permanently from the system. Once completed, this cannot be undone.

To delete a contact:

  1. From the left Navigation, select the CRM Module.
  2. Find the customer you want to make inactive and select the contact's name.
  3. In the top right-hand corner, select the Delete button.
  4. Select OK to approve.

Making a Contact Inactive


If a transaction has been made against a contact, it will not be possible to delete that contact in order to ensure data integrity across historical records. Contacts can be made inactive instead, which has a similar effect.

It also is not possible to delete Branches after any transactions have been recorded against them. They will have to be made inactive to remove them from view in the system.

To make a Contact inactive:

  1. From the left Navigation, select the CRM Module.
  2. Find the customer you want to make inactive and select the contact's name.
  3. From the Active drop-down, select Off.
  4. Select Save to save the changes.

Viewing Inactive Contacts


To view contacts that have been made inactive:

  1. From the left Navigation, select the CRM Module.
  2. From the Custom Filters drop-down, select Inactive.

FAQs

Can I make multiple contacts inactive at the same time?

No, it is not possible to make multiple contacts inactive at the same time.

I accidentally deleted a contact - is it possible to restore them from a backup?

It may be possible to restore contacts from a backup, depending on how long ago the deletion occurred. Contact Cin7 Support for additional information.